Back To The Present

This is the first time I’ve posted for ages.  Proof that people shouldn’t really dabble with time travel – I thought I was going to Marston Moor (1644) but ended up in the oncology department at Dorchester Hospital…oh how I laughed.
Anyway, this all means I haven’t been painting (just haven’t been feeling well enough) so not a lot to show you.  Just as I was starting to feel well enough I happen to stumble upon theartofphildavis.blogspot.com .  I love the work of Phil Davis, really good and seeing his paintings and drawings was the final straw – I just had to start painting again.  But…just as I was about to start, I was asked to do a drawing which will then be auctioned for charity.  So it looks like I will be while yet before I can finish my painting.  I would like to that Phil for his comments – I have long bouts of illness that stop me painting and sometimes I then find it hard to get back on track.  Sometimes just picking up a brush/pencil seems like such hard work – at times like this, it’s comments like the ones from Phil that give you that kick up the bum to get working again.  I would recommend a trip to Phil’s site at theartofphildavis.blogspot.com for some really great stuff.  Phil runs art classes in Ballycotton a small fishing village in Southern Ireland – how lucky are those people, I know I would be attending if I was living anywhere near there.  Mmm…I wonder how good distance/postal/internet learning is?

If I get time, I will try to get a Work In Progress of my graphite tomorrow, although I doubt there will be a lot to see.

10 thoughts on “Back To The Present

  1. Thanks for the links and the amazing comments , I feel humbled by your generosity.I would be delighted if, by my comments,you found the strength and inspiration to paint, despite your obvious pain and suffering. I look forward to seeing more of your work, and as Cathy says, Rest

  2. Hi. I found you from Dan's Canvas, the comment you left there. Despite your illness, your humor and humanity show through in your words. I'm happy to follow you and look in on your painting escapades. Thanks for following me back, I appreciate that. Mostly, I appreciate your tremendous spirit and I'm glad you are still connected to art.

  3. Hi Stew, thanks for stopping by my blog, and for the kind words. They're very much appreciated. I've the greatest respect and admiration for how you're dealing with the challenges your facing. You'll be in my thoughts and prayers. God bless, keep doing what you love doing, and stay in touch.

  4. Blimey Mark, I'm bowled over.Thing is I'm a bit of a fan of you and your work. I have no idea how you control charcoal like you do. And as for graphite…phew. Your mist is so real I keep having to wipe my computer screen.Thanks for the message Mark.Stew.

  5. it's necessary to get ready and start to paint and draw again, artists can't live without that πŸ˜€ and thanks for sharing the phil davis blog, his art is just heaven !

  6. Glad you feel better and you can share with all of us your creations. :)Thanks for your kind visit to my site (come back soon, right?!! :))Best wishes!

  7. Thanks for stopping by my blog; I do really like your "Big Step, Small Feet" and look forward to more of your work when you finally stop the time travelling and get some rest, eh?xoxo

Leave a Reply

