Bob Dylan

Bob Dylan
Graphite on paper

 

Hello Everyone.

Well after the Marc Bolan drawing, I thought I would give Bob a go.

This drawing gave me no end of problems none of it the actual drawing.  First of all I had just finished the line work when I ruined it by trying to clean up some marks with an erasure.  I decided it was time to buy better paper and while I was at it go bigger.  So this drawing is 13″ x 9″ on 15″ x 11″ paper, giving a 1″ border all round.  I finished it today but it is too big to fit in my scanner – oh crickey!  This was the best photograph I could get with my little camera.  It has lost so much detail and subtlety.  The paper is actually white but it looks kind of grey here doesn’t it?  Still, it could have been worse – I took some Work In Progress shots earlier in the week and they were unusable.   I’ve also noticed the camera seems to distort the drawing somewhat – the edges are not as crisp and straight, curving slightly on every photo I took.  I’m guessing my little camera cannot cope with such close-up shots.

Anyway, I hope you like it 🙂

Stew.

35 thoughts on “Bob Dylan

  1. Looking good.. for photographing work I do it outside, preferably in sunshine. Take the pic from further back than necessary and zoom in, that will lessen the distortion. To get back to the white paper on the image you can use Photoshop- sometimes just their ‘automatic adjust works fine’, or you could increase the contrast.

    1. Hello Caroline.
      Thank you for nipping in for a peek.
      I haven’t been to your site for a while, are you still living in Brittany? Caroline’s site can be seen by clicking here —> http://artistsmock.blogspot.co.uk/
      I did think of using zoom but didn’t know if that may had the same effect. I would have taken the pic outside but this is England in September – I was worried about the wind 🙂
      Stew.

  2. Thats really good, wow. I know about the paper colour issue when taking pictures, I go out and take then on my deck when its sunny out .

    Really nice work, looking forward to see what you will tackle next : )

    Cheers!!

  3. You may feel frustrated that it hasn’t come across well, but all I can see is that it looks brilliant to me – detailed, skilled, inviting – it’s a great portrait. 🙂 The hair is super, and all the tonal values.

    I sympathise about the ruining something whilst erasing … been there, done that.

    Great to see another drawing, and hope all well with you and yours.

  4. This looks excellent even in the photograph, the hair is amazing!
    I always put larger drawings in a bright spot on the floor and photograph them from above, seems to work ok with my little camera.

    1. Hello Cathy!
      Yes, I also photograph work in sunlight but sunlight here in the UK in September is possibly different to your light eh? 😉
      Keep painting the fruit & veg – they are cool so no need to stop 🙂
      Stew.

  5. Wow! Amazing drawing!
    I can sympathise re the lack of light here in the UK! What you need is a bigger scanner 😉
    Look forward to meeting your Frank Zappa !

    1. Hello Viv.
      How nice to see you at my little bloggerty blog.
      Thank you for the magnificent comments.
      I DO need a bigger scanner but I am recovering from bowel and lung cancer so not working at the moment. But wouldn’t a really large scanner be wonderful? Although, having no money really makes you appreciate things so much more. I got a new pencil the other day…so exciting – it meant I could finish the Bob Dylan drawing. Before, I would have just gone and got the pencils I needed – now I worry about running out of supplies all the time. I think this is a beginning to sound like a whole blog topic itself.
      Viv…your site is tremendous. If anyone would like to go see, click here—> http://livegrownourishcreate.wordpress.com/
      Stew.

      1. So sorry to hear about the cancer – but happy to hear that you are recovering.
        Oh yes, I think you are so right about having no money making you appreciate things more. We have gone from a dual income family (where we bought stuff just because we could) to a single-public-sector-part-time income family. We don’t buy much stuff. We appreciate the stuff we have way more.
        And thank you for your lovely plug of my blog too. 🙂

  6. Hey guitar man – this is phenomenal, with a capital p h e n o m e n a l because it wouldn’t be enough to just capitalize the first letter! I am astounded by the detail and excellent likeness. I’m working bigger now too – my last two have been too big to scan with the result that no one online has seen them yet. My photos are always curved, so I crop (the lazy man’s solution). Keep up the good work!

  7. Hello Dan,
    Thank you so much for toddling round to my little bit of cyberspace.
    Thank you SO much for the fantastic comments – I can’t tell you how much yours and everyone else’s comments mean to me.
    What we both need Dan, are GIANT scanners! Not that there is any chance of me ever getting one but just think….not only would it be wonderful for me – but we would also be able to see much more of Dan’s work 🙂 I can dream 🙂
    I’m a big fan of Dan’s work – why not take a quick glance yourselves? http://danscanvas.blogspot.co.uk/
    Stew.

Leave a Reply

