Rowan

Graphite on Paper
Graphite on Paper

Hello Everyone.

I do not think I have posted for a while (what’s new there eh?), so I thought today I would show you a recently finished commission.  As usual, my little camera didn’t do a great job.  It’s graphite on 15×13 paper – the drawing itself is 13×11 leaving a 1″ border all the way round.

I have been looking through a small A5 sketchbook I have.  It only cost 99p (in fact I got two together which was even cheaper).  Looking through, I was thinking, ‘Why don’t I ever post any sketches?’  So maybe I will very soon.

35 thoughts on “Rowan

  1. what a cutie! and a very impressive piece of art! I have never tried such a detailed drawing but I probably should. glad to see you are keeping up the good work.

  2. Gorgeous work Stew! Beautiful eyes and all the fine details on her clothe. I love the folds on her sleeve, and her hoodie, but most importantly, her expression is just priceless!

  3. Wow Stew, this is absolutely amazing. As my eyes wander around the picture I am blown away by each and every part – the hair, the hand, the eyes, the outfit! But the whole – wow – quite an impact!! Rowan is obviously priceless. So I hope they paid you close to that. 😉 I am sure your drawing will be treasured for a lifetime, and perhaps more.

  4. Stew you are a total wizard – I echo everything Dan said: this is totally amazing. I kept saying to my daughter, look at the hair! look at the fingers! look at the clothes! look at the eyes! A simply wonderful portrait.

    Please do post your sketch book contents, would love to see them!

    Btw, I tried to simplify my blog theme – next time you have a working connection to the world and time, I’d be grateful if you’d let me know if it’s any easier via android.

    I am sure, by the way, that the commissioners of this portrait were over the moon.

  5. Wow, you have a magic touch. Those eyes and chubby litle cheeks make me want to just squish him. Your work is wonderful.

    1. Hello Mags,
      Sorry for the (very) late reply – it is murder using this tablet.
      I would have posted some sketches but it has been hard without a laptop.
      Thank you for the great comments 🙂
      I need to get round to your great blog.
      Stew.

  6. Hi Stew, only just got a chance to have a look, have been in UK for a couple days. As usual, what can I say that hasn’t already been said! It’s a wonderful work and I bet the people who commissioned you are gob smacked. All the best.
    Phil(MAS)

    1. Hello Cathy,
      Thank you for the wonderful comments.
      I was dreading this one for ages as you’re right, babies and young children can be so difficult but I’m the end it wasn’t so hard.
      Stew.

  7. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues
    of plagorism or copyright infringement? My website has a lot of completely unique content
    I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any ways to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d
    truly appreciate it.

  8. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I
    have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

