Lucinda and the Hare

Lucinda and the Hare

I guess I am going to have to call this painting finished. I’ve just noticed there is quite a bit of glare on this but I think you get the idea.

I’ve had this on the old easel since last year (2013) (now it’s on the new easelย  ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  ). The problem was mainly because I started this painting and then found out I had lung cancer again. I had the operation in October so it was late in the year (December) before I could continue with this one.

Then this year I have found out I have bowel cancer again just as I was starting a new painting. I’m going to keep going while I can. I’ve had the investigative operation, MRI scan, CT scan, PET scan and colonoscopy so I should be going in to hospital for the operation anytime now.

With the new painting, I will try to post some process shots as I go along. It is something I have been saying I would do for quite a while now.

31 thoughts on “Lucinda and the Hare

  1. Jesus H you are really getting it rough Stew, nobody deserves what you are going through, no wonder you are not able to paint much, but wow! when you do . Look I don’t know what to say , I am sitting here feeling gutted for you, if there is anything I can do for you please let me know,and I really mean that it’s not just an off the cuff to make me feel better. Keep in touch, I hope you get some good news for a change, talk soon. Phil (MAS)

    1. Hello Phil. So great to hear from you and read your great comments. I consider you a true friend. I’m at Southampton General on 2nd May for a meeting so I should find out what they are doing and when the operation date is.
      I am hoping you and your family are well.

      Stew (Fully paid up member of MAS)

  2. Stew, I like your painting style very much and this painting shows how talented you are. But I am deeply sorry for your illness and heavy therapy. As I am a kidney ca patient I can understand your feelings. Please don’t stop painting and be in touch with us. We are praying for you allways.
    Ruhi

    1. Hello Ruhi. So glad you could make it to my blog.
      Thank you for the comments about my painting. Thank you also for the kind words.
      I am so sorry to hear of your illness and I will be thinking of you.
      Take Care.
      Stew.

  3. Lovely painting and its good to see you back Stew, really sorry for all the struggles you are having to face right now. Really wish you all the best of luck with all the tests and treatments and I’m glad you have time to paint between everything.

    1. Hello Mari. Thank you for the visit.
      Thank you also for the nice comments.
      One thing about cancer, it gives you plenty of time for painting – too bad that you always feel too tired ๐Ÿ˜‰ Oh well.
      Take Care.
      Stew.

  4. It looks amazing, one to be proud of! I’m so sad that the cancer is back, it seems so unfair. Keep up the struggle Stew and paint when you can. I hope you get some good news soon. X

    1. Hello Cathy. Thank you for the lovely visit.
      Thank you also for the wonderful comments.
      I am at Southampton General on the 2nd May for a meeting so I should find out more about the operation then.
      Hope you’re well.
      Take Care.
      Stew.

  5. Gracious sakes… Well, you will certainly be in my thoughts and prayers Stew. You have beautifully completed this painting!! Perhaps you can begin something new before you go in for more surgery…you know, to give you something to look forward to when you are recuperated enough. Many blessings to you!

    1. Hello Jennifer. I’m so glad to see you here, thank you for coming.
      I am hoping to get another painting finished before I go in to hospital, as I know I will be in for quite a few weeks. Chances are slim though as I get so tired. On the other hand, I have started and should post something quite soon ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thank you for the kind words.
      Take Care.
      Stew.

  6. Wow…so sorry to hear about your health. Keep posting your beautiful paintings … We love to see them and it’s good for you too. Would love to see pics in progress too. Keep us updated. My heart goes out to you. Keep strong.

  7. Remembering you had cancer was the first thing when I saw your name. I was so hoping, as were you of course, that you would have good news. I will be sending positive energy your way. I di hope they get it all this time. Wishing you the best of success.

  8. Stew, I’m sending much love and many healing thoughts for you for the forthcoming op and for general well being and happiness. What a series of blows you have had of late. Those of us who love your work are always happy to see a new post and this wonderful portrait is a joy to look at. Don’t worry about commenting on other people’s posts, we all understand – and I hope that healthy days are just around the corner. Thanks as always for sharing your work with us.

  9. I’m so sorry to hear that the cancer once again attacked. Praying for healing! and wishing that in this Easter time and in the midst of your health challenges you better get to know the one who is the resurrection!

Leave a Reply

