Work In Progress No2

Oil on wood panel.
Oil on wood panel.

This is the second Work In Progress photo I have posted.

I am well into the first colour layer now. I’m still feeling my way round this one but I do feel it is starting to pull together. The colour is used quite thinly – with a mix of 2 parts OMS to 1 part walnut oil. I am mainly using Winsor & Newton artist grade oil paint but I have been moving over to Michael Harding artists oil colours – beautiful handmade oil paint.

I do have to stress that I’m not saying this is how you should paint. I’m learning all the time myself – I always will be learning – you never stop. All I am saying is this works for me but my technique changes all the time. There are many ways to use oil paint, this is just one.

Of course, there is more to come very soon.

Thank you for your interest and the fantastic comments.

14 thoughts on “Work In Progress No2

    1. Hello Kimber. Thank you so much for taking the time to come and visit me. I must admit, it can get quite lonely at times but I do get the occasional interesting visit. Talking of which, I took an interesting visit to your blog…
      http://misschybil.wordpress.com/
      Very thought-provoking and intriguing blog – I hope you post some more.
      Thank you for the wonderful comment Kimber.
      Take Care
      Stew.

      1. Thank you, Dr. Cornelius. I haven’t been posting on the Tourist in My Hometown blog. I should. I’ve been posting about my art work on my new blog, kimberscottfineart.wordpress.com. Hope you’ll stop by there sometime. Can’t wait to see more progress on your painting. ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Hello Maureen. How wonderful to see you here on my little bloggerty-site.
      Thank you also for the nice comment.
      Mike is correct, OMS is Odourless Mineral Spirit. I use various ones at the moment I am using Zest-it. I have also used Winsor & Newton’s Sansodor and I have just bought some of Jackson’s Art own brand.
      Maureen’s site is here…
      http://maureennathan.com/
      Mike’s site is here…
      http://www.mikesrealart.co.uk/
      Take Care
      Stew.

  1. Just checking in with you Stew…wondering how you are doing!? I myself just got home from major surgery about a week and a half ago. It took place on June 4th. But nothing like what you have going…truly wishing you all the healing possible for your body! Please take care!

    1. Hello Jennifer. Thank you for taking a look and your message.
      Iโ€™m so sorry to hear of your surgery. I am hoping youโ€™re starting to feel a little better. I hoe your not feeling too down โ€“ surgery can make you feel that way sometimes. I always think of all the wonderful things in life.
      Sorry also for taking so long to reply. Iโ€™m on chemotherapy at the moment so Iโ€™ve waited for my week-off (back on on Friday, worse luck).
      Anyway, I shall be thinking of you and praying for your quick recovery.
      Stew.

  2. Oh my! I missed this one! Fabulous!! I am already absolutely amazed by the patterned (I don’t know what it is called) clothing. Such a realistic feel to it. And I love her expression.

    It is so good to see you online and painting, despite it all. Here’s to the weeks off! (I myself am waiting for a week off – from work). Best of luck, my friend – thoughts are with you always on this side of the pond.

    1. Hello Dan. Sorry for the late, late reply – not been very well.
      I haven’t been able to do much on the painting lately although I have done another layer. The trouble is I have been on chemo and now I have five weeks of radiotherapy everyday except the weekends, which does not leave me much time to paint. I’m hoping to get some work done on the painting in late October when I get a few weeks between radiotherapy and the operations.
      I pop in to your blog quite often to see how your going on – I should comment more often but my keyboard keeps stopping working. I sometimes use the virtual keyboard but that is so slow to use…lol.
      Stew.

  3. Hi Stew, I always love seeing your posts and your progress with your work, but I’m ashamed to say I haven’t been keeping up with my favorite websites this summer due to too many irons in the fire, and I just saw your news about the cancer returning. I haven’t seen anything posted since your July response to Jennifer, so I’m doing the Mother-Hen worrying thing and wondering how you are. I know from family experiences that chemo can be pretty rough, so I hope you’re sticking that chin out and hanging in there and are soon on the mend! Thinking of you…..Suzanne p.s. We put you on our Prayer Team list at church.

    1. Hello Suzanne. Thank you for calling in ๐Ÿ™‚
      I must admit, I havenโ€™t been keeping up with peoples blogs & sites lately. The problem is I have been on chemotherapy and now I have started radiotherapy. I have just finished my first week of radiotherapy โ€“ I get the weekends off. I am doing five weeks (maybe six) everyday except Sat/Sun. While on radiotherapy I am also still on chemotherapy. So I am only at home on a weekend which leaves little time for painting. After the radiotherapy, I get around six weeks off so hopefully if Iโ€™m well enough I may get the chance to finish this painting ๐Ÿ™‚ Then CT scans and then into hospital for the operations.
      Thank you for writing and asking about me Suzanne โ€“ it was very kind. I hope to pass on the kindness I have received to others when I am well again ๐Ÿ™‚
      Stew.

Leave a Reply

